Image credit: NHS70 Parliamentary Awards

In a competition which marks the NHS’ 70th birthday, NHS teams throughout the UK have announced the individuals and teams they have chosen as regional champions for the NHS70 Parliamentary Awards.

Launched in February, the Awards asked MPs to nominate the individuals or teams they thought have made the biggest improvements to health services in their constituencies across ten different categories.

From more than 750 entries, senior experts have chosen outstanding nominations across the categories, recognising the massive contributions made by the individuals who work in and alongside the NHS.

The shortlisted nominees are shown below:

The Excellence in Mental Health Care Award

North – Zero Suicide Alliance at the Centre for Perfect Care in Merseyside

South – Dorset Armed Forces Community Health and Wellbeing Project at Dorset HealthCare University NHS Foundation Trust

Midlands and East – Diabetes and Mental Health Teams at West Hertfordshire Hospitals NHS Trust

London – Saeed Khalilirad, Specialist Cognitive Behavioural Therapist at West London Mental Health NHS Trust

The Excellence in Cancer Care Award

North – York Against Cancer and York Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

South – Sian Dennison, Lead Cancer Nurse at Plymouth Hospitals NHS Trust

Midlands and East – Inspire Health Team – Sarah Minns & Jyoti Shah at Burton Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

London – Community Children’s Nursing Team at Lewisham and Greenwich NHS Trust

The Excellence in Urgent and Emergency Care Award

North – Alliance – Integrated Urgent Care Services at North Tees and Hartlepool NHS Foundation Trust

South – Home First Team at Royal United Hospitals Bath NHS Foundation Trust

Midlands and East – HECTOR (Heartlands Elderly Care, Trauma and Ongoing Recovery Project) at Heart of England NHS Foundation Trust in Birmingham

London – Dr Gayle Hann – Consultant Paediatrician Lead for Emergency Care at North Middlesex University Hospital

The Excellence in Primary Care Award

North – Cumbria Health on Call in Penrith

South – CLICK CHAMP at Church View Medical Centre in Somerset

Midlands and East – University of Nottingham Patient Safety Team

London – Brian Dickens – Practice Manager at Parchmore Medical Centre

The Person-Centred Care Champion Award

North – Community Tissue Viability Services at Pennine Acute NHS Trust in Manchester

South – Dr Shelagh O’Riordan – Consultant Community Geriatrician at Kent Community Health NHS Foundation Trust

Midlands and East – Norfolk Just One Number Initiative at Cambridgeshire Community Services NHS Trust

London – Temptations Mambiravana – Older Person’s Assessment and Liaison (OPAL) Nurse Specialist at Lewisham and Greenwich NHS Trust

The Future NHS Award

North – Digital Liverpool Team at Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust

South – TIHM (Technology Integrated Health Management) for Dementia Study Team at Surrey and Borders Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

Midlands and East – Renal Telemedicine Team at East and North Hertfordshire NHS Trust

London – Professor Shafi Ahmed – Consultant General, Laparoscopic and Colorectal Surgeon at Barts Health NHS Trust

The Healthier Communities Award

North – Healthier Fleetwood at Mount View Surgery, Fleetwood

South – Gary Deighton and The Community Engagement Team at Forest of Dean District Council

Midlands and East – Alex Cotton and the ‘It Takes Balls to Talk’ Team at Coventry & Warwickshire Partnership NHS Trust

London – Islington GP Federation

The Care and Compassion Award

North – Emma Taylor – Nurse Practitioner for Older People at Wirral Community NHS Foundation Trust

South – Clock Tower Surgery in Exeter

Midlands and East – Butterfly Volunteers at East and North Hertfordshire NHS Trust

London – ‘Treat Me Right!’ led by NHS North West London Clinical Commissioning Group’s

The Patient and Public Involvement Award

North – Victoria’s Voice Youth Forum at Blackpool Teaching Hospitals Foundation NHS Trust

South – Chris and Steve Beal at NHS Southampton City Clinical Commissioning Group

Midlands and East – My WiSH Charity at West Suffolk Foundation Trust

London – Dr Sian Job and the NHS Wandsworth Clinical Commissioning Group

The Lifetime Achievement Award

North – Dr Nayyar Naqvi – Consultant Cardiologist and Senior Responsible Officer at Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh NHS Foundation Trust

South – Rose Bennett at Solent NHS Trust

Midlands and East – Professor Barbara Wilson, Founder of the Oliver Zangwill Centre at Cambridgeshire Community Services NHS Trust

London – Dame Jacqueline Docherty – Chief Executive Officer at London North West University Healthcare NHS Trust

The next stage of the competition is for the regional awards champions to compete against one another for a national award which will be presented at a ceremony in the Palace of Westminster on July 4th, a day before the NHS’ 70th birthday.

Further details about each nominee will be published on the NHS70 Parliamentary Awards website over the next few weeks.

The NHS70 Parliamentary Awards website is HERE

Over 7,000 healthcare professionals stay informed about the latest assistive technology with AT Today. Do you?
We respect your privacy